Friday, December 29, 2023

Congratulations!?!

I get an email saying Congratulations, you won the auction. I am super excited and nervous all at the same time. I get several emails. It tells me what all the next steps are; sign the contract, send the escrow amount via wire, send proof of funds, send a copy of my drivers license, hurry up and then wait.

Ugh. Waiting. For what? I don't really know how all this is going to work, but I am in the process of finding out. I read the contract, and it isn't exactly what I expected. My husband looks over it too, and we call auction.com. We have questions. 

What questions do we have? The first and most important one for us is why the contract states we cannot have an inspection done. We are told this is because buying the house at auction means you accept it as is. Done. Oh, wow. We ask if we are able to back out of the sale. Yes, we can, but we will have to pay $500 in the future should we choose to use auction.co again. Ok, fair. They don't want a bunch of people bidding out of boredom or bullshit. Fair enough.

So we discuss it. We go over the pros and cons. We agree to move forward. I can't wait to close, let's get the show on the road. We sign the contract and send it back. Sent in all the other required information as well, and wait some more.

What are we waiting on? Title check. The bank has little to no information they can really give us about the property. Hell, we have found conflicting information online as to the square footage of the house and also about he year it was built. Ok then. We have no idea how long it's been vacant, how we can access it, who the utility providers are, etc.  Congrats and good luck!

I reached out to the title company. They stated that they will check title, and assured me it won't take long. Not in Alabama (I forgot to mention that's where we ended up buying), it's pretty quick. Awesome. So we wait more. Thinking that all we were waiting on was the title check, I was thinking we would be able to close in about 2 weeks. Nope. Wrong. We also had to wait on the bank to sign the contract which could take up to 10 days. Thankfully it didn't. The bank signed the contract the same day they received it. Cool. What's next?

I thought we were done. Bank signed the contract, title check was complete, so tell me how to pay you and what I owe and then we're done, right? Wrong again. Of course. Now what? Now we are waiting on the bank to sign the deed. The bank only signs deeds on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. Of course. When do I find this out? Wednesday late in the day. And don't count on it too soon since there's a holiday next week (Thanksgiving was coming up). Fucking great!

So I get the "I'll call you when the bank signs the deed and we can set a closing date". Ya, I had already talked to this guy in the past and found out he wasn't a man of his word. I would probably fall off the grid before I heard from him. So what do I do? Wait more.

No comments:

Post a Comment

So Much To Do, What's Next?

It's Sunday in tiny town Alabama. If I thought yesterday was shut down, oh no. We are IN the bible belt, more-so then Texas ever was. Ev...