Monday, January 1, 2024

Water.......Drip, Drip

We spent our first night in our new house. It was very quiet and peaceful. The dogs are our of whack and don't know where to sleep. They too are in a new space, so it's an adjustment for all of us. We are all tired, and sleep, but not good. It was super cold in the house.

There are so many things to do. So many visions I have for this house. And with all of that, it's a mystery on where to start and what to do. The water company is due to come out first thing in the morning. By mid afternoon, they still hadn't arrived. I call to find out an ETA and was told we could turn it on ourselves; there was a big water leak that the guys have been working on all day and they don't know when that'll wrap up. My husband turns the water on. We check faucets, tubs, shower, etc. There are a few leaks; nothing major though. We run to Tractor Supply to get what he needs to fix the leaks. He gets them fixed pretty quickly, while I run into town to get insurance on the house, make a quick trip to the store and a few other stops to get him some additional things he needs.

I get home and the water leaks are fixed, but, there's more. The shower/tub in the master bedroom is leaking behind the tub from the fixture. Good to know. Not an emergency, but will have to get fixed. Not today, because that gold tub/shower surround is coming out, so we will address it then. One of the faucets in the master sink is broken. No big deal. A new temporary faucet gets put on in the hall bath because it was leaking. Fortunately we found a plumbing supply warehouse a mile from our house. Bonus! The water line that runs to the washing machine was left on in the utility room so when the water got turned on, that was spraying everywhere. Whoops. So a bit of a mess, but nothing catastrophic. Kitchen faucet is broken. It's cheap and will be replaced. So for now, I don't care. Leaks are fixed or things are capped off or whatever needs to happen. He turned the water back on but the water pressure sucks. Ok, something is clearly going on somewhere. Let's just take a break from this for now, and we do.

We decide to go over and meet the neighbor. There is one house directly across the street from us; the only house almost within sight. Nice. We are thinking, it's probably a good thing to find out who lives over there and what kind of person/people we may be dealing with. Not only that, but with our house being empty for a while, we didn't want anyone to be startled that all the sudden someone with an out of state plate is there. Who knows what anyone may think. So let's get that established too. There's a man, J.B., who lives in the house. He is 79 years old, hard of hearing, but super nice! His son lives with him, but he isn't home, so we will meet him another time. We chat with J.B. for a bit; one of the first thing he tells us is that there is a broken pipe and we have a water leak in our front yard. Great, that helps, thanks for letting us know. It turns out that J.B. has lived in his house for 53 years, so he is full of all kinds of knowledge, and knows a lot about our house. After a nice chat, we head back across the street.

It's been a long day, lots of work and shit to get done, but we are spent. We look around the property a little more, but nothing extensive. We notice there's a lot of debris on the property, stashed behind the garage, and things just thrown around here and there. Weird. Who would do that? From what we were told by J.B., the people that used to live in that house were slobs, and just threw stuff everywhere. Wow. We will have to get it cleaned up. All in due time. But for now, we are stopping for the day. It's dark by 5p, and it's pitch black outside. You can't see a thing. 

We are camping out in the living room on an air mattress, because for now, that's what is happening. It was the best room to set up. The house is cold as the temperature drops at night. We dont' have the gas turned on yet because a pressure test has to be completed first. It's Friday and that likely won't be completed until Monday. I picked up a little heater while I was out earlier since last night it was cold in the house. We are more prepared now. Lucky for us we were able to close doors since every room has a door so the heater didn't have to do more than the space we were in. Perfect. let's hope we get better sleep and more sleep now that we wont' be so cold.

No comments:

Post a Comment

So Much To Do, What's Next?

It's Sunday in tiny town Alabama. If I thought yesterday was shut down, oh no. We are IN the bible belt, more-so then Texas ever was. Ev...