It's Sunday in tiny town Alabama. If I thought yesterday was shut down, oh no. We are IN the bible belt, more-so then Texas ever was. Everyone goes to church and everything is closed, except Walmart, of course.
We need to eat. And surprise, get more shit for the house. I feel like we are in this never-ending circle of needing shit. It's hard, being between two houses with damn near nothing. It's an adventure, to say the least, but an adventure we both signed up for, knowing it wouldn't be easy. Bring it on, because this is what you do with a second chance at life. You have more adventures, new ones, along with many, many other things.
Back to the house, what else can we do? By now I've started cleaning here and there, but we have a lot more to do. I want my husband to take advantage of this time while we are both at the house to do whatever needs to be done in a pair, whatever will make things easier for him while I am able to help. Instead, with things being closed, we decide to clean both bathrooms. I'm sure when we were done, with my lungs burning, CSI could come in and find zero evidence. No DNA. Not a fingerprint. Nothing. We scrubbed those bathrooms so hard. They are still ugly, but now clean. If you are wondering, how after a few days of being there why we hadn't cleaned the bathrooms already, at least one......I have answers for you. We arrived on Thursday afternoon. Water was turned on on Friday, then shut off due to the leaks. We have been peeing outside. Haven't showered yet. So we weren't using the bathrooms at all. Other priorities took over. We are roughing it. It is like camping used to be long long ago, or how it is when you go hunting (from what I have been told).
I have the biggest ever bottle of hand sanitizer, and we use that, a lot. We also have lots of bottled water, soap, hand towels, etc. Some conveniences, just not necessarily in the way they are typically used. It's fine for now. I think I could be in a way worse situation personally, and as for my husband, well he is a man, and this is just part of what they probably do that they think is "normal". Ha. Makes me want to take an online poll.
I swept the entire house, there was just little stuff all over. We had been keeping the doors all closed too and not going into the other rooms, so it was no big deal. But I wanted to make sure there was nothing that would hurt the dogs paws, so I cleaned up. Slowly moving along......but every time I turn around, I think, oh ya, let me do that, do that, and that list in my head just never ends. it's almost hard to know where the best place to start is and what to do exactly. Slowly it's coming together.
I cleaned off the end of the one side of the driveway because it was buried in pine needles. We have a delivery coming tomorrow, and I want the truck to pull all the way up and around the house, so let's make this easy for him to see.....because I forgot to mention, our mailbox is laying on the ground. Don't exactly know how that happened, but it was like that when we arrived. I don't need anyone saying they couldn't find our house, or some other lazy bullshit excuse and that's why things didn't get there. Nope, I don't have time for that shit.
Sunday was the perfect day to spend cleaning with almost everything being closed. Us getting our once-a-day trip to the store finished early on, that allowed us to focus on the house, inside. Cool. Time just goes too fast and there just isn't enough hours in the day.
As the day comes to a close, the night sky is pitch black, we discuss the game plan for tomorrow, some ideas for the house itself, with some possible new layouts, knocking down walls is a consideration, enlarging our utility room, who knows. The possibilities are endless, unlike our bank account. It's just some ideas I have had over the past few days, looking around, imaging all the things we could do, and it's exciting. So much so, we are worn our and call it a day! And it's still early by most people's standards. We've just had enough for today!